The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones


Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
447
Narrator
62
Release Date
October 2014
Duration
21 hours 22 minutes
Summary
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Perfect for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring all-new material from George R. R. Martin!

If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin’s masterwork—the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time—warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.

This in-depth audiobook is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that’s been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org—perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.

Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros, and 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book.

The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin’s dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Brandon S

An absolute must read. George R. R. Martin is most definitely the Tolkien of our time .

Profile Avatar
Reed Starnes

Wonderfully illustrates GRRM's World of Ice and Fire series. The identity and point of view of the characters are so heavily defined by the history and culture of the lands they hale and this book provides that all important background in rich detail. A must read for anyone following the series. Roy Dotrice is again superb with a refreshing counterpart in Nicholas Guy Smith reading the illustrations and footnotes.

Profile Avatar
Kori J.

Yes this book is hard to listen to if you're not a huge fan of the books. The narrator is great and I wish he would narrate all books everywhere, I love to listen to him. The book is dry but after listening to all the books it's interesting to hear how things started!

Profile Avatar
Micah D.

Anything to keep me from thinking about Winds of Winter. Some very familiar material, but it definitely help broaden your understanding of ASOIAF. Very broad scope, and it’s fun to look at fiction from a historical perspective. Read the whole (current) canon before reading this or you will be lost!

Profile Avatar
Shane Kendrick

Really good way to learn all you need to know about ancient Westeros in a clear and chronological way. Pictures are nice in the hardcopy but that is to be expected absent in audiobooks.

Profile Avatar
Timothy Rafferty

Awesome! I Love Roy, he does all George RR books and he's absolutely awesome!!!

Profile Avatar
Jeremy Buwembo

Huge Fan!!

Profile Avatar
Kenneth Casebolt

If you've read the book series, this is a great companion book to listen to the back stories in one place.

Profile Avatar
Philip H.

I thoroughly enjoyed all the original Game of Throne books and the detail applied by George R R Martin in developing his characters, cultures, and lands. I only gave this book 4 stars because it reads like a historical reference book and less like a story. It's difficult to remember all the people and lands, except for the ones in the original books. I can appreciate how the world of Game of Thrones is vastly greater in size than the original books, and the author could write dozens more GoT stories, similar to the expansive Marvel and Star Wars worlds. The best part of this book describes the historical context of the recent House of the Dragon series on HBO MAX, starting around the 4th hour.

Profile Avatar
Shane

It’s Georgia Martin… that’s enough to love it.

Profile Avatar
Pamela Brown

Very enjoyable, explained the history. The narrator has a wonderful speech that fits the story.

Profile Avatar
Lauren D.

It’s very interesting and well done. It’s written as a history text, but much more fun than a fictional text book. Only giving it 4 because the Song of Fire and Ice Saga is much more exciting and fun to read/listen to.

Profile Avatar
Angelah

I love this series. Can’t wait for the next one

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

awesome book

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Good, good Story to start. but the readers are a bit Blah. Otherwise #DigginSh**

Profile Avatar
Rodnry L.

Awesome book and of course the narration was bang on- Godspeed Roy Dottice GOT books won’t sound the same without you

Profile Avatar
David B.

Great stories, worth a listen.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$30.00
View Cart