The Woman in the Window: A Novel

Written by:
A. J. Finn
Narrated by:
Ann Marie Lee

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
345
Narrator
90
Release Date
January 2018
Duration
13 hours 44 minutes
Summary
#1 New York Times Bestseller –Now a Major Motion Picture starring Amy Adams, Julianne Moore, and Gary Oldman – Available on Netflix


“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble?and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

BONUS: Includes an interview with author A.J. Finn.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Kristen l

The story was really really slow. It did make some interesting points and had a good dramatic effect but I did not feel that it was suspenseful at all. It was psychological but not a psychological Thriller. I kept waiting for something suspenseful or thrilling to happen but it never felt thrilling or suspenseful.

Profile Avatar
Ron H

Extremely slow story. I even played it at 1.25 speed just trying to get through it but finally abandoned it with a couple of hours left. I just didn’t really care what happened to her in the end.

Profile Avatar
Rita J

This is one of those 'can't put it down' novels - the intrigue, suspense and discoveries along the way hold many twists and turns. Beautifully written and great narration!

Profile Avatar
Ellen P.

Loved the book, although it was slow at times, but it certainly ended quite unexpectedly, never saw that coming. Looking forward to the movie and the next book fby A.J. Finn. epm

Profile Avatar
Lee I

Boring. The story never picks up.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Interesting plot twist. Book was good. Just a bit slow.

Profile Avatar
Larissa

Very good

Profile Avatar
Kristi P.

Don’t believe what others are saying about being slow- it was so good. I almost didn’t read because of the negative reviews but once I started I didn’t want to do anything but listen to this until it was done!! Definitely a psychological thriller!

Profile Avatar
Latoya L.

This book was a mess, it and Anna too. Anna, a psychiatrist is someone who shouldn't be, but then again the loss of her family may explain her actions. She lost her husband and daughter in a accident and now she has a fear of leaving her house. So now she obsessed with watching the neighbors and drinking while taking her meds. She's convinced that she saw her neighbor kill his wife, but finds out it wasn't him but someone she never expects. Everyone including the police thinks she's hallucinating or maybe drinking too much. It was ok, but toooooooo drawn-out storyline. I went ahead and watched the movie on Netflix. I usually don't like movie made from books because they don't do them justice however, this one was much better than the book. #Book31of2021 #bookworm #whatsnext

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I was not sure how to rate this book. I started and stopped it several times. Finally knew I had to finish it as I hate letting things go undone! A bit better as it neared the end but wasn’t surprised “ who done it”

Profile Avatar
Marie I.

I can’t even get through this book. It’s horribly slow and wordy!! UGH! I hate wasting credits.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Hate it can’t listen to it

Profile Avatar
Cathy S.

Enjoyed the twists and turns of the book.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

This book kept you guessing. A psychological thriller. Narrated very well.

Profile Avatar
Mary F.

This book was fabulous! So many twist and turns with a surprise ending!

Profile Avatar
Terence K.

This was a good book and the reader was good. There were parts that could have moved faster, but there were also a few plot twists that were very good. I was surprised with the ending.

Profile Avatar
Elizabeth K.

I didn’t like the character and it just dragged on and on. I don’t like not finishing a book but this tempted me .

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Slow at the beginning but then was a non stop listen for me

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

The Narrator read to slow.

Profile Avatar
Lisa E

Excellent book. Very unpredictable ending. Really a Great Book. Couldn’t stop listen. Very very surprising. Loved.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Tiresome and a total waste of time.

Profile Avatar
Debora V

I thought the plot was a little slow - I just wanted the story to move along and end. I got tired of her same old actions...

Profile Avatar
Renee K

Very slow story-could have gone faster- but easily draws you in. Found the narrator to draw out the descriptors which sometimes was distracting to the story. Overall great story with many turns that will keep you guessing

Profile Avatar
Donna S

It dragged on and on...it could have ended 6 hours sooner.

Profile Avatar
Biffy J

I was disappointed. The book was really predictable, plus I did not like Anna. It is hard to like a book when the person you are supposed to be rooting for is a ninny.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I wanted to love this book, but it turned out to be such a waste of time. The buildup was super slow and repetitive and I just expected so much more. Save your time and money.

Profile Avatar
salon l

I feel like I’m in the emperor’s new clothes. All these authors I love give this book such praise and as I’m reading I’m thinking this is like one of those cheesy romance noir books as every sentence had to have a flowery like the other used all the adjetives found in the learn a new word a day calendar.

Profile Avatar
Sonja M

Riveting from start to finish. Great plot and gorgeous prose. I love thrillers but usually figure things out very quickly. This one took a while! Also, kudos to the narrator- outstanding!

Profile Avatar
Sharon S

This book kept me intrigued. I enjoyed it.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Loved the pace of this book. Loved all of the references and quotes of old movies. A surprise until the end. Fun read!

Profile Avatar
Annmarie H

It took a long time into the story to realize why the main character is so....pathetic. I felt impatient hearing every detail of her alcoholism, prescription drug addiction, and obsession with her neighbors' lives. I started noticing all the similes and metaphors used for description and that was distracting for me.

Profile Avatar
Rachel S

There were some parts that were too lengthy but overall I loved this book.

Profile Avatar
Milda jean t

If you enjoy details about the tiniest thing, for instance the Sherwin Williams color name for a shade of paint in the bathroom this is for you. It will certainly put you to sleep. All I can think is hurry up and get to the story because after listening 2 hours I have every detail about the house the character lives in but when do I get to the story. The voice is monotonous for most of the time and can't tell when she's a different character because her voice doesn't change much. This is my free trial. If this is what I can look forward to I will cancel. I am a avid reader who thought this would be great in the car driving but I would rather listen to the am radio. I am thoroughly disappointed.

Profile Avatar
Dianna C

I usually only listen to books while on the road. This was the kind I couldn't stop listening to. I loved the twists and turns in characters. I was guessing until the very end. I definitely recommend and will look for other books by this author.

Profile Avatar
William L

A long slog. Well written but in dire need of editing overall. Lengthy in sections that required minimal prose. Very predictable and I struggled to get 3/4s of the way through it (I finally abandoned at that point).

Profile Avatar
Kristen L

The book was slow & predictable with an unlikable protagonist.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$31.99
View Cart