Give the gift of audiobooks this season with a prepaid gift subscription Shop Gifts

Twin Beds in Rome

Written by:
John Updike
Narrated by:
Peter Van Norden

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
July 2014
0 hours 20 minutes
The Maples Stories consists of eighteen classic stories from across John Updike's career, forming a luminous chronicle of the life and times of one marriage in all its rich emotional complexity. In 1956, Updike published the story 'Snowing in Greenwich Village,' about a young couple, Joan and Richard Maple, at the beginning of their marriage. Over the next two decades, he returned to these characters again and again, tracing their years together raising children, finding moments of intermittent happiness, and facing the heartbreak of infidelity and estrangement.

As Richard and Joan Maple's story continues in this fourth story in the collection, their marriage is falling apart. Though both intensely desire separation, they continue to hold on to their broken relationship. So rather than get away from each other, they go away with each other—to Rome.
1 book added to cart
View Cart