This Terrible True Thing: A Visual Novel

Written by:
Jenny Laden
Narrated by:
Gail Shalan

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
Narrator
Release Date
September 2023
Duration
11 hours 20 minutes
Summary
In this heartbreaking multimedia debut—filled with drawings, poems, and journal entries—author Jenny Laden draws on her own experience to create a story of grief and transcendence, perfect for fans of Francesca Zappia and Jennifer Niven.

Danielle Silver is a Philadelphia high school senior at the dawn of the ’90s. Ever since her parents split up, she has known her father was gay, but she never expected to be hit with the bombshell that he is HIV positive. As he sickens, and AIDS starts to claim the lives of his friends, Danielle searches for silver linings while trying to balance paralyzing fear, grief, her social life, and schoolwork—capturing all the feelings as adolescence and some hard facts collide.

An Educator’s Guide is available: https://s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/www.blackstoneaudio.com/docs/This%20Terrible%20True%20Thing_Education%20Guide.pdf
1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$19.95
View Cart