Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

Written by:
Ji-Li Jiang
Narrated by:
Christina Moore

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
17
Narrator
2
Release Date
March 2013
Duration
6 hours 9 minutes
Summary
Publishers Weekly Best Book
ALA Best Book for Young Adults
ALA Notable Children's Book
ALA Booklist Editors' Choice

In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl’s courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century.

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution—and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart.

Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.
Browse By Category
1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$19.99
View Cart