The News Quiz 2011: Series 73, 74 and 75 of the topical BBC Radio 4 comedy panel show

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
August 2023
11 hours 37 minutes
Three more series of the satirical radio panel show chaired by Sandi Toksvig

Sandi Toksvig, 'probably the funniest person in the English-speaking world' (The Guardian), is our host for these 25 episodes of the perennially popular comedy news quiz, first broadcast between New Year's Eve 2010 and 4 November 2011.

Joining her to poke fun at stories big and small are a panel of illustrious players including Roisin Conaty, Dominic Lawson, Richard Herring, Tom Wrigglesworth, Henning Wehn, Imran Yusuf, Julia Hartley-Brewer, Laura Solon, Sarah Millican and Paul Sinha.

Among the headlines grabbing their attention are Sky Sport's own goal, bankers' bonuses, shrinking clinks, cohabitee's rights, iPhone's tracking abilitites, celebrity gagging orders, Wikileaks whistleblowing, the Higgs-Boson particle, internet dating scams and Mary Portas' charity shop challenge - plus David Cameron's KGB recruitment attempt and Theresa May's cat spat.

Giving us a round-up of the comic cuttings sent in by listeners are newsreaders Carolyn Brown, Harriet Cass, Corrie Corfield, Peter Donaldson, Charlotte Green, Rory Morrison and Neil Sleat.

Production credits
Chaired by Sandi Toksvig
Chair's script written by Carl Carter, Lucy Clarke, Rhodri Crooks, Gareth Gwynn, Jane Lamacraft, Simon Littlefield, John-Luke Roberts and Danielle Ward

Produced by Victoria Lloyd, Sam Bryant, Katie Tyrrell and Lyndsay Fenner
A BBC Studios Production

Series 73 featuring: Jo Brand, Susan Calman, Roisin Conaty, Justin Edwards, Andy Hamilton, Jeremy Hardy, Dominic Holland, Phill Jupitus, Miles Jupp, Andrew Lawrence, Fred MacAulay, Sue Perkins, Carrie Quinlan, Hugo Rifkind, Paul Sinha, Mark Steel, Henning Wehn, Danielle Ward, Francis Wheen, Imran Yusuf

Series 74 featuring: Rory Bremner, Susan Calman, Bridget Christie, Jack Dee, Rebecca Front, Jeremy Hardy, Richard Herring, Armando Iannucci, Miles Jupp, Russell Kane, Fred MacAulay, Andrew Maxwell, Sarah Millican, Matthew Parris, Hugo Rifkind, Will Smith, Mark Steel

Series 75 featuring: Marcus Brigstocke, Susan Calman, Bridget Christie, Andy Hamilton, Jeremy Hardy, Julia Hartley-Brewer, Phill Jupitus, Dominic Lawson, Fred MacAulay, Sarah Millican, Bob Mills, Matthew Parris, Hugo Rifkind, Paul Sinha, Laura Solon, Tom Wrigglesworth

News items read by Carolyn Brown, Harriet Cass, Corrie Corfield, Peter Donaldson, Charlotte Green, Rory Morrison and Neil Sleat

First broadcast on BBC Radio 4, 31 December 2010-25 February 2011 (Series 73), 15 April-3 June 2011 (Series 74), 9 September-4 November 2011 (Series 75)

© 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd. (P) 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd.
1 book added to cart
View Cart