J.L. Carr: A Month in the Country and The Harpole Report: Two BBC Radio Full Cast Dramatisations

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
June 2024
2 hours 5 minutes
Two stunning dramatisations from one of the twentieth century’s most beloved authors

Sink into the lyrical landscapes and beautifully observed lives of J. L. Carr’s finest stories, brought to life in these glorious, full-cast dramatisations starring Shaun Dingwall (Noughts and Crosses, Top Boy) and Rupert Evans (Man in the High Castle, Bridgerton).
This BBC Radio collection includes the Booker nominated, A Month in the Country. Be transported to the Yorkshire village of Oxgodby where, in the aftermath of the First World War, survivor Tom Birkin spends a summer uncovering a medieval mural in the local church. Birkin discovers treasures he thought the war had blown away forever. A tender and beautiful story about spirituality and healing in the aftermath of horror. The Harpole Report tells the humorous story of idealistic young teacher, George Harpole, who decides to shake things up when he becomes acting head of Tampling St Nicholas Primary School. There’s stiff resistance, improper suggestions and children running riot, but true romance may be just around the corner…
J. L. Carr served in the RAF in WWII and after the war worked as a teacher, publisher and writer. His novel, A Month in the Country, won the Guardian Fiction Prize and was also turned into a film starring Colin Firth and Natasha Richardson. Since his death in 1994, Carr has become recognised as one of the great British writers; funny and heart-breaking in equal measure. Immerse yourself in this timeless and very English collection.
Cast and credits
Written by J. L. Carr
A Month in the Country
Adapted by Dave Sheasby
Produced by David Hunter
Birkin - Rupert Evans
Alice - Hattie Morahan
Keach - Stephen Critchlow
Moon - Blake Ritson
Kathy - Leah Brotherhead
Station Master - Tony Bell
First Broadcast BBC Radio 4, 20 November 2010
The Harpole Report
Dramatised by Jonathan Smith
Directed and produced by Bruce Young
George Harpole - Shaun Dingwall
Emma Foxberrow - Hattie Morahan
Mr Tusker - Christian Rodska
Mr Theaker - Sam Dale
Mrs Blossom - Lesley Nicol
Mrs Rita Grindle-Jones - Jane Whittenshaw
Mr James Pintle - David Holt
Mrs Sue Byrd - Susie Riddell
Other parts played by the cast
First Broadcast BBC Radio 4, 12 March 2012
©2024 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd (P)2024 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd
Browse By Category
1 book added to cart
View Cart