The Gilded Ones

Written by:
Namina Forna
Narrated by:
Shayna Small

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
27
Narrator
14
Release Date
February 2021
Duration
12 hours 46 minutes
Summary
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY TEEN VOGUE
 
'A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold. Must read!' –Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles
 
Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs.

But on the day of the ceremony, her blood runs gold, the color of impurity–and Deka knows she will face a consequence worse than death.

Then a mysterious woman comes to her with a choice: stay in the village and submit to her fate, or leave to fight for the emperor in an army of girls just like her. They are called alaki–near-immortals with rare gifts. And they are the only ones who can stop the empire's greatest threat.

Knowing the dangers that lie ahead yet yearning for acceptance, Deka decides to leave the only life she's ever known. But as she journeys to the capital to train for the biggest battle of her life, she will discover that the great walled city holds many surprises. Nothing and no one are quite what they seem to be–not even Deka herself.

The start of a bold and immersive fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Tawna R.

decent plot, but heavy handed delivery on the moral lessons

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I liked the storyline. Plus the narrator’s voice made iteasy to follow along with my own book copy.

Profile Avatar
Katherine S.

Fantastic book, and wonderful reader!! This isn't usually my reading genre (fantasy), but I'm trying to step out of my box. I was so impressed with this book and I'm sad all in my heart that I've gotta wait for more, but, no matter. I'll wait

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$27.50
View Cart