Give the gift of audiobooks this season with a prepaid gift subscription Shop Gifts


Written by:
John Updike
Narrated by:
Peter Van Norden

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
July 2014
0 hours 29 minutes
The Maples Stories consists of eighteen classic stories from across John Updike's career, forming a luminous chronicle of the life and times of one marriage in all its rich emotional complexity. In 1956, Updike published the story 'Snowing in Greenwich Village,' about a young couple, Joan and Richard Maple, at the beginning of their marriage. Over the next two decades, he returned to these characters again and again, tracing their years together raising children, finding moments of intermittent happiness, and facing the heartbreak of infidelity and estrangement.

In the fifteenth installment, 'Gesturing,' Richard finally leaves the Maples' suburban town after their summer separation, taking an apartment in nearby Boston. Though both he and Joan continue to see their lovers, they can't escape the bond they forged over years of marriage and raising children.
1 book added to cart
View Cart