The d'Artagnan Romances: The Three Musketeers, Twenty Years After & The Vicomte of Bragelonne - Ten Years Later

Written by:
Alexandre Dumas

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
September 2019
132 hours 0 minutes
The d'Artagnan Romances include three novels by Alexandre Dumas, telling the story of the 17th-century musketeer d'Artagnan. Dumas based the character and attributes of d'Artagnan on captain of musketeers Charles de Batz-Castelmore d'Artagnan (c. 1611–1673) and the portrayal was particularly indebted to d'Artagnan's semi-fictionalized memoirs as written 27 years after the hero's death by Gatien de Courtilz de Sandras (published 1700).
The Three Musketeers (French: Les Trois Mousquetaires): Situated between 1625 and 1628, it recounts the adventures of a young man named d'Artagnan after he leaves home to travel to Paris, to join the Musketeers of the Guard. Although d'Artagnan is not able to join this elite corps immediately, he befriends the three most formidable musketeers of the age - Athos, Porthos and Aramis, the three inseparables, as these are called - and gets involved in affairs of the state and court.
Twenty Years After (French: Vingt ans après): The novel follows events in France during the Fronde, during the childhood reign of Louis XIV, and in England near the end of the English Civil War, leading up to the victory of Oliver Cromwell and the execution of King Charles I. Through the words of the main characters, particularly Athos, Dumas comes out on the side of the monarchy in general, or at least the text often praises the idea of benevolent royalty. His musketeers are valiant and just in their efforts to protect young Louis XIV and the doomed Charles I from their attackers.
The Vicomte of Bragelonne - Ten Years Later (French: Le Vicomte de Bragelonne ou Dix ans plus tard): It is the third and last of The d'Artagnan Romances, following The Three Musketeers and Twenty Years After. In the English translations, the chapters of this large volume are usually subdivided four individual books:
1. The Vicomte de Bragelonne
2. Ten Years Later
3. Louise de la Vallière
4. The Man in the Iron Mask
Browse By Category
Profile Avatar

great books would recommend

1 book added to cart
View Cart