Dark Horses: A Novel

Written by:
Susan Mihalic
Narrated by:
Alex Allwine

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
31
Narrator
11
Release Date
February 2021
Duration
10 hours 26 minutes
Summary
A “sweeping and raw story of courage, resilience, and clear-eyed grace” (Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author) about a teenage girl’s fierce struggle to reclaim her life from her abusive father in the vein of My Absolute Darling and Room.

Fifteen-year-old equestrian prodigy Roan Montgomery has only ever known two worlds: inside the riding arena, and outside of it. Both, for as long as she can remember, have been ruled by her father, who demands strict obedience in all areas of her life. The warped power dynamic of coach and rider extends far beyond the stables, and Roan’s relationship with her father has long been inappropriate. She has been able to compartmentalize that dark aspect of her life, ruthlessly focusing on her ambitions as a rider heading for the Olympics, just as her father had done. However, her developing relationship with Will Howard, a boy her own age, broadens the scope of her vision.

“[A] heart-pounding, can’t-take-your-eyes-off-it debut novel” (O, The Oprah Magazine), Dark Horses explores the themes of abuse and resilience in a way that will leave you transfixed. This is “a provoking and needed book” (Booklist, starred review).
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Nadine R.

Chilling, Dark tale of a terrible childhood told through the eyes of a teenager struggling to free herself from the world she knows. My only complaint is it was repetitive at times but I thought it was a great listen overall

Profile Avatar
Tanja C.

I thought this book was so well written and smart. It is about a young girl who is coming of age who has grown up in a very very abusive family. A mother who never wanted her and a father who makes her his whole life. She has only known the life she has been raised in. No friends goes to school on a special schedule and has been training her whole life to be a champion, perfect an Olympian. It is about incest which is a hard subject to listen to or read, but I thought the author did a very good job of being a matter of fact from the victims point of view. The narration was perfect !

Profile Avatar
Anne L.

Promises more than it delivers. A rather wordy style, in oral rather than written language, the opposite of chiseled. The language of the modern 16 year old narrator, without the spunk and creativity of some teenagers. Still it was good listening. As regards the narrator, the contrived drawl she puts on to impersonate the father is exasperating. Putting on accents rarely goes down well. Otherwise she is good.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Seems like there was a way to tell the story without all of the Incest.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Well written story about a horrible subject matter. Narrator was excellent!!!

Dark Horses: A Novel
This title is due for release on February 16, 2021.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Dark Horses: A Novel
This title is due for release on February 16, 2021
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Dark Horses: A Novel
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Dark Horses: A Novel

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 Book added to cart
Subtotal
$23.99
View Cart