Ancillary Justice

Written by:
Ann Leckie
Narrated by:
Adjoa Andoh

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
22
Narrator
8
Release Date
November 2018
Duration
12 hours 41 minutes
Summary
Winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards: This record-breaking novel follows a warship trapped in a human body on a quest for revenge. A must read for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and James S. A. Corey. 

"There are few who write science fiction like Ann Leckie can. There are few who ever could." -- John Scalzi
On a remote, icy planet, the soldier known as Breq is drawing closer to completing her quest.

Once, she was the Justice of Toren -- a colossal starship with an artificial intelligence linking thousands of soldiers in the service of the Radch, the empire that conquered the galaxy.

Now, an act of treachery has ripped it all away, leaving her with one fragile human body, unanswered questions, and a burning desire for vengeance.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Haley C.

Ugh, Ann Leckie. You’ve done it again. So incredibly good. Very often I found myself staring into space just listening. Wonderful wonderful narration by Adjoa Andoh as well! So perfect for the story! A million stars out of five.

Profile Avatar
Skarph L.

This is as good a book as I have ever read (or listened to) in a long and book-filled life. Characters, plot, thought provoking themes; all are supremely well constructed, and the writing style is both original and masterful. it is not an "easy" read. The prose is subtle and often ambiguous or inconclusive. If the significance of something is unclear to the characters, it is left unclear to the reader as well. But it must be pondered for later developments to be properly appreciated. if you try to skim through to the "good bits", you'll miss all the best bits.

Profile Avatar
Marc-Alexandre R.

like Tolkien with nature, Cixin Liu with physics, and George RR Martin with clothes, Ann Leckie creates an immersive and fully realised world with culture, and the way cultures change, through assimilation and/or resistance under imperialism. The exploration of personhood, embodiment, and agency through AI is a staple of sci Fi, but never before has it been as thorough, and nuanced as this series. Adjoa Andoh is the perfect talent to bring this series to life, her skill with accents brings the cultural mosiac of The Radch to life in a way that added so much more dimension to this story than when I first read it, making this audiobook one that truly adds value to written text.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$31.99
View Cart